6 Months from CCIE to DevOps Associate

As a traditional network engineer with a CCIE since 2017, my career in the IT industry, particularly in my home country, is regarded as excellent. Despite the fact that the IT infrastructure is currently shifting from traditional to automation, on premises to cloud, vendor specific to vendor agnostic, and so on, the demand for specific vendor specific certification remains high, with the higher certificate level the better.

That kind of thing keeps me trapped in my comfort zone for several years; if I compare yesterday to five years ago, I don't see any significant progress in my skill and I hardly have any new certification.

Starting from today, when i create my account on Hashnode, and i create this article, i have commitment to upgrade my skill, to be more precise is to refresh my obsolete skill and decide to changes it with DevOps skillset.

As a starting point, i would like to make personal note for my journey road map to be DevOps, with the Tagline 6 Months from CCIE to DevOps Associate, most of the part from this study plan is taken from a Monk in The Cloud journal.

Month 1 - 2 : The Fundamental

- Week 1 : DevOps Basic
- Week 2 : Linux Fundamental
- Week 3 : Programming Fundamental using Phyton
- Week 4 - 7 : Cloud Technologies from Well Known Cloud Provider, including AWS, Azure, and GCP
- Week 8 : Version Control System, GiT, and basic Infrastructure as Code

Month 3 : Automation and CI/CD

Week 1 - 2 : Automation Tools such as Jenkins, Travis CI, CircleCI, or GitLab CI/CD
Week 3 - 4 : Full CI/CD Pipeline, explore GitHub Actions, Azure DevOps, AWS CodePipeline

Month 4 : Monitoring and Orchestration

Week 1 - 2 : Monitoring and Log Management Tools such as Nagios, Zabbix, Grafana, Prometheus, and ELK Stack.
Week 3 - 4 : Container orchestration Tools such as Kubernetes and Docker Swarm.

Month 5 : Advanced Automation and Infrastructure as Code

Week 1 - 2 : Advanced automation concept, such as Ansible and Puppet.
Week 3 - 4 : Infrastructure as Code, explore AWS CDK and Azure Bicep.

Month 6 : Security and Compliance

Week 1 - 2 : DevOps security best practices.
Week 3 - 4 : Compliance frameworks.

I'll update the article as soon as I finish my lesson and have a better understanding of each topic, so that I can give a brief explanation on each one.